How To: Pimp My Vans

Everyone enjoys a good pun every now and then, right? The title of this post was my somewhat lame attempt at being punny. It’s a play on words of the show Pimp My Ride that was popular on MTV in the 2000s. A van is a type of “ride,” but instead of “pimping out” cars, this post will be discussing the process of pimping out my Vans shoes. Get it?!

All puns aside, pimping out my Vans was one of the best fashion decisions I’ve ever made. The process was surprisingly not as hard as it may seem, and I ended up with a unique pair of shoes that add flair to any outfit. You simply need a pair of Vans or similar shoes like Keds, super glue, studs, toothpicks and a bit of patience.

Image

I purchased my studs from StudsandSpikes.com, though they are available for purchase elsewhere online like Amazon and eBay. At first, I was skeptical about buying something from a random website —  especially one with a name like StudsandSpikes.com — but the delivery was prompt and the service was great! They offer two types of studs: screw-back and two-pronged. I decided on gold cone screw-backs because pronged ones would have most likely taken longer to attach. Instead of actually taking the time to screw each one in, I chose to just glue the top of each one and not use the back part of the stud.

Image

There are many brands of super glue out there, and deciding on one for this project is almost as big of a deal as deciding what college to go to. Okay, maybe not. But it’s kind of a big deal. I personally opted for Amazing E-6000 super glue, and I highly suggest it because only one stud has fallen off since I made them.

The process of gluing the studs is fairly straightforward. I used a toothpick to apply the super glue to each stud so I didn’t get my fingers stuck together. Though I decided to glue them on the sides of my Vans, my friend glued hers to the top portion of the shoe and it turned out great as well. The key is to glue them in an organized fashion; randomly placing them will result in awkward empty spaces. I started on the bottom and glued the studs in a straight line and then started a new line until I reached the top. It’s as easy as that!

Image

If you’re more of a visual learner, then have no fear. Check out this YouTube video for a tutorial that shows how to apply both the screw-back and the two-pronged type of studs. Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “How To: Pimp My Vans

  1. Pingback: STYLE GURU BIO: Victoria Messina | College Fashion Trends and Style Tips

Leave a Reply

