Menswear-inspired outfit of the day

Mother Nature has graced the city of Gainesville with some pretty funky weather lately. Within the past two weeks, I’ve experienced finger-numbing temperatures in the 40s and 50s. What does this mean?

  • For most people, colder temperatures entail grumpy attitudes, Facebook statuses and tweets about the frigid weather, Instagrammed screenshots of the iPhone weather app proving just how shockingly cold it is, an occasional curse word or two targeted at Mother Nature, multiple complaints about not having anything to wear out at night and the desire to skip classes in order to avoid the weather.
  • For me, colder temperatures are like a breath of fresh air that give me an excuse to break out those sweaters and jackets sitting in the back of my closet year round, practically begging for some attention come winter.

Because of the fact that cooler weather calls for multiple layers of clothes, wintertime allows me to further get in touch with my creativity in fashion. Rather than simply pairing a shirt with shorts or a skirt as I do in the warmer months, I can now explore with the mixing and matching of jeans or leggings, flannels, long-sleeved shirts, jackets, scarves, beanies and headbands. It’s a bit more of a challenge to match things and make sure that the layers make for a cohesive outfit. But hey, who doesn’t love a little challenge?

One particular day last week, my challenge was solved when I got a little inspiration from a surprising source: menswear. Rather than donning a girly peacoat and matching scarf, I opted for a flannel shirt, grey jacket and dark-wash jeggings. Together, this made for a fairly dark outfit, which is pretty rare for me. But I added a pop of color with my red Neff beanie to make up for it. Even though some could argue that I looked like a manly lumberjack (sans the beard, of course), I enjoyed changing it up a bit and adopting this edgier look for the day. For this outfit, it was all about the layers. Between the flannel and jacket (and the extra long-sleeved shirt underneath the two), I was perfectly prepared for a day of walking to and from classes on the chilly campus. Layers like these are great for Gainesville’s bipolar weather because you have the freedom to shed a few throughout the day if need be. If it had gotten warmer, I could’ve easily slipped off my jacket or even just taken off my flannel and tied it around my waist. Image Hooray for cheesy, self-timed pictures!ImageJust actin’ a fool. The usual. Image Image Flannel: Pacsun | Jeans: Pacsun | Jacket: Forever 21 | Beanie: Neff | Shoes: Vans

Cue the shameless plug… If you’re like me and occasionally take a gander at the men’s section in stores, check out my article for HerCampus.com about how to rock men’s clothing in a fashionable way. It may sound strange at first, but it’s totally possible to do so in a cute, feminine way. As always, thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Menswear-inspired outfit of the day

Leave a Reply

