One shirt, four outfits: Getting the most out of your clothes

Similar to any other cheap college student, I’m a big fan of getting the most bang for my buck. Whether it’s Tijuana Flats’ Taco Tuesday special or Starbucks’ Frappuccino Happy Hour, I’m all about the bargains. My dad, an avid Groupon-er and the man who taught me my bargain-hunting ways, will undoubtedly be proud of this post when he reads it! I usually go into my shopping expeditions with a thrifty mindset, asking myself various questions while in the dressing room, including:

  1. Will I ever actually wear this?
  2. Is this really worth the money?
  3. What else do I have in my wardrobe that will go with this?

I like to put a big emphasis on the last question because I like to get a lot of use of my clothes to reassure myself that it was money well spent. I do a mental run-through of my wardrobe, and if I think I have a sufficient amount of items to pair with it, I usually go in for the kill—I check to see if I have any gift cards and grudgingly swipe the plastic card of death I like to call MC (a.k.a. Master Card) because I’m just that cheap. After I get over my initial case of buyer’s remorse, I happily skip home with shopping bags in hand, excited to raid my closet and plan new outfits for the future.

To demonstrate how easy it is to get the most of your clothes, I put my Polyvore obsession to good use and styled four different outfits centered on one graphic shirt.

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.09.00 PM This first look is a menswear-inspired, slightly grungy take on the rock band shirt. It gives you the chance to channel your inner ‘90s child with a flannel shirt and ripped denim. I think the light wash jeans keep the outfit from being too grungy and dark. Don’t let the summer heat prevent you from wearing a beanie during this time of the year—they’re a great way to hide those frizzy flyaways that always come out to play when the Florida humidity does.

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.15.01 PMIf you’re not a beanie kind of gal and you’d rather channel your inner ~rock star~ in a more feminine way, then this one is for you. As seen in this post, I’m really into the graphic shirt/skater skirt combo for the summer. Skater skirts are a cute, breezy way to stay chic in the summer heat. Even though the graphic shirt makes a statement, don’t be afraid to add an equally statement-making patterned bag. This girly look is perfect for a lunch date or a day at the mall.

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.09.37 PMI remember buying a pair of overalls three years ago for a whopping $8 at Plato’s Closet and being so stoked that I had the chance to bring them back in style. I’m not saying that I started the trend again but hey, who knows? Maybe I did?! This outfit choice puts the fun in ~funky~. I especially love overalls because their nifty front pockets eliminate the need to carry a purse. If you’re headed to a daytime music festival or any outdoorsy summer activities, this outfit is a must-try!

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.13.59 PM

Last but definitely not least, I wanted to overcome what some believe to be a difficult feat: making a graphic shirt dressy. Most believe that these shirts are for more casual occasions, but I beg to differ. With the right accessories and makeup, a super cool band shirt can land you a ~sizzlin’~ outfit for a night out on the town with your gal pals. If you’re feeling daring, try swapping the black skinny jeans for a coated pair like these, which have a leather-like finish that gives off the same badass feeling as real leather pants without being too trashy. Add a pop of color with some red lips and you’re good to go!

All it takes is a little creativity (and maybe some kind assistance from my good ol’ pal Polyvore) to make you realize that you have more outfit options within your wardrobe than you may realize. A wise person once said, “Fashion is what you buy; style is what you do with it.” Don’t be afraid to experiment with your clothes and step a little outside of your comfort zone for the sake of making a fashion statement.

As always, thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “One shirt, four outfits: Getting the most out of your clothes

Leave a Reply

