Outfit of the day: tribal overalls

Okay, so you’re probably thinking to yourself, “What the heck? Tribal overalls? That sounds hideous… Lemme check out this weirdo to see what this is all about.” I will admit that buying these online was a bit of a fashion risk for even me. But I figured that because I love anything and everything tribal printed and because overalls have been my guilty pleasure since I found a pair for $8 at Plato’s Closet three years ago that maybe combining the two trends into one could make for a rad outfit. Even though they’re a little eccentric, I think life is way too short to wear boring clothes. I mean YOLO right?

With Drake’s words of wisdom in the back of my head (like always, duh), I bought my tribal print overalls and finally decided to get some mileage on those bad boys today when I went to Ybor City for lunch. Though many are scared of Ybor because of its reputation for housing a plethora of “sketchy” people, I actually love the place. As the former home of cigar factories and thousands of Cuban and Italian immigrants, it’s rich in Tampa’s culture. I’m not denying its sketchy tendencies — My mom and I were once hit on by a real-life pimp wearing a floor-length purple pimp suit. Plus, I’ve encountered my fair share of transvestites and homeless people. But I can assure you that if you go during broad daylight around lunchtime, you’re golden.

And today, that’s exactly what I did. I went to lunch at The Bricks of Ybor, my go-to restaurant in the area. Owned by the Skatepark of Tampa, one of my favorite hangouts in town, The Bricks never fails to leave me with a happy tummy and wallet. Even though I usually opt for the pulled pork sandwich, I changed it up today by getting the Bird & Pig — a pulled chicken sandwich with brie, sliced apples, agave and bacon, all pressed between sweet bread (a.k.a. heaven in my mouth). The Bricks is a must-try if you’re into places that serve fresh, cheap and inventive food. Stay around until dark and you’re in for some ~groovy~ tunes and an even groovier atmosphere.

Enough of me rambling about sketchy cities and food (we’d be here for days if I didn’t stop myself); let’s get to the outfit! Because the overalls are so in-your-face, I paired them with a simple white crop top and knock-off Vans from Target (holla for being a cheap college student).

Image

Casually about to get run over by a car… #doitforthephoto

ImageSo apparently the sun only likes to tan my legs… I think it’s time to reevaluate my sunscreen.

Image

Walkin’ away from all the tribal overall ~haters~

Image

My hair was actually decently curled before Florida’s humidity got ahold of it.

ImageThe ever so classy Skye nightclub offers the loveliest of backdrops for close-ups, don’t you think?

Image

New shades from Urban Outfitters keepin’ me ~fresh~.

Image

Overalls: Forever 21 | Crop top: Nordstrom | Beanie: PacSun | Shoes: Target | Sunglasses: Urban Outfitters

As always, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

