Outfit of the Day: Valentine’s Day

For most single people, today is a nausea-inducing flurry of happy couples smothering you with their affection. They seemingly emerge from the woodwork to flood every coffee shop, restaurant and store to publicly celebrate their relationship, all in the name of love. For me, today has been a day of jamming to Webbie’s “Independent” and treating myself to some of my favorite things (shopping, coffee and Vietnamese food), all in the name of self-love.

As far as relationships go, I’m currently single as a Pringle and totally okay with it. As a senior in college, I’m in a transitional period of my life that doesn’t exactly set me up for romantic success. The “real world” is looming on the horizon, potentially drawing me to a new city to pursue my dreams of working in the print or online media industry. Plus, it doesn’t help that the selection pool of men in my college town is a jumbled mix of STD-carrying, frat tank-wearing asshats and socially awkward recluses. But that’s a whole other story in and of itself.

When I woke up this morning, I decided to get dressed to the nines for Valentine’s Day. I may have only gotten spruced up for myself and the random hipsters sitting near me right now in a coffee shop, but that’s okay. I’m a strong advocate of the adage “If you look good, you feel good.” And man, this outfit has me feeling like the spokeswoman for Nicki Minaj and Beyonce’s song “Feeling Myself.”

I encourage all you ~single ladies~ to mop up your self-pitying pool of tears and get out there to celebrate yourself today. Throw on a killer outfit that makes you feel confident, and rejoice in the fact that you don’t have to share your pizza with anyone (except your gal pals, of course)!

DSCN0905Say “cheeeeeeeeese!”

DSCN0906Internally yelling at myself for already scuffing up my favorite suede shoes.

DSCN0908Thinking of my valentine (a.k.a. me)

DSCN0910Deuces to all the single-people haters out there.

DSCN0915Smiling because I was thinking about the Vietnamese food I’m eating tonight.

DSCN0917Wishing I had the patience and expertise to get rid of my flyaway hairs in this photo. But I don’t.

DSCN0916On the next episode of “True Life: I Don’t Know What To Do With My Hands In Photos…”

Cropped sweater: H&M (similar) // Button-up skirt: American Eagle (similar) // Shoes: Macy’s // Necklaces: Forever 21 (similar)

2 thoughts on “Outfit of the Day: Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

